WIRA finalists announced

THE Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia has announced the finalists for the 2022 Women in Resources Awards.
WIRA finalists announced WIRA finalists announced WIRA finalists announced WIRA finalists announced WIRA finalists announced

The 2021 WIRA winners

Staff reporter

CME received more than 85 nominations for the awards, in their 13th year, culminating in the announcement of 18 finalists.

BHP led the nominations with four.

The winners will be announced at a dinner in Perth on April 1.

"The WIRA presentation dinner is always an absolute highlight of our calendar and showcases some of the finest people and initiatives in our sector," CME CEO Paul Everingham said.

"The importance and impact of diversity and gender equality in our sector is something that all CME member companies are committed to recognising, promoting and continuing to support.

"The 14 women, one man and three companies making up our WIRA 2022 finalists very much reflect that commitment.

"As a sector, we're very proud of the healthy growth in female participation in mining and resource over the past decade, and also the ever-rising number of women in leadership roles.

"We know we still have much work to do to reach our ultimate goal of gender parity, and events like WIRA - which highlight the extremely valuable contribution made by women - are an important part of the path to getting there."

Outstanding Young Woman in Resources Award  
Elle Farris (Newmont Australia)
Nynne Rasmussen (South32)
Ting Gorman (Shell Australia) 

Outstanding Operator/Technician/Trade Award
Madeline Deppeler (Shell Australia)
Samantha Ewe-Jones (Rio Tinto)
Sharon Pearce (Shell Australia)

Outstanding Woman in Resources Award
Deanne Renting (Chevron Australia)
Kathryn Lewi (Tianqi Lithium)
Sharon Reynolds (Woodside Energy)

Technological Innovation Award
Kim Tan (BHP)
Sravani Mukkisa (RIG Technologies International)
Virginie Hannah (Bis)

Women in Resources Champion Award
Alison Terry (Fortescue Metals Group)
Marie Bourgoin (BHP)
Steve Campbell (BHP)

Outstanding Company Initiative Award
BHP - Yandi Mining New to Industry Truck Operator Program
Compass Group - Respectful Behaviours Campaign: Addressing Sexual Harassment in the Workplace
Lab61 - Robotics Skills Hub