2021 MNN Awards nominees revealed

THE nominees for the 2021 MNN Awards have been announced.
2021 MNN Awards nominees revealed 2021 MNN Awards nominees revealed 2021 MNN Awards nominees revealed 2021 MNN Awards nominees revealed 2021 MNN Awards nominees revealed

Staff reporter

After receiving a record number of nominations throughout June, the MNN editorial team faced the difficult task of combing through the submissions to finalise a shortlist of nominees.

What has resulted is 21 finalists across four categories: Deal and/or Merger of the Year, Explorer of the Year, CEO of the Year and New and/or Emerging Leader of the Year.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate. Nominations came in from all over the world from mining companies, suppliers, analysts, corporate advisors, bankers, investors and the judging panel.

The nominees for the fifth annual MNN Awards are:

Explorer of the Year

Chalice Mining for the Julimar PGE-nickel-copper discovery in WA

Aurelia Metals for the Federation polymetallic discovery in NSW

De Grey Mining for the Hemi gold discovery in WA

Greatland Gold/Newcrest Mining for the Havieron gold-copper discovery in WA

Jindalee Resources for the McDermitt lithium discovery in the US

Rio Tinto for the Winu copper discovery in WA

Sovereign Metals for the Kansiya rutile discovery in Malawi

Deal and/or Merger of the Year

Firefinch's acquisition of the Morila gold mine in Mali

IGO's joint venture with Tianqi Lithium and the sale of the Tropicana gold mine

The merger of Northern Star Resources and Saracen Mineral Holdings

Alkane Resources' spin-out of Australian Strategic Materials

CEO of the Year

Ken Brinsden of Pilbara Minerals

Peter Bradford of IGO

Chris Ellison of Mineral Resources

Andre Labuschagne of Aeris Resources

Morgan Hart of Emerald Resources 

Amanda Lacaze of Lynas Rare Earths

New and/or Emerging Leader of the Year

Simon Lawson of Firefly Resources

Andrew Paterson of Great Boulder Resources

Dr Stephen Grocott of Queensland Pacific Metals

Tim Mason of Eagle Mountain Mining


Congratulations to all of our nominees.

This year's nominees come from a diverse range of commodities and include previous winners - De Grey was our 2020 Explorer of the Year while Amanda Lacaze was our 2018 CEO of the Year.

It is the second consecutive nominations for De Grey, Chalice, Newcrest/Greatland, Northern Star and Peter Bradford.

Over the next few weeks, we will be highlighting why each of our nominees was chosen.

That will allow the judging panel, comprising MNN's editorial team and a series of industry leaders, to vote on winners.

Winners will be announced by the end of this month.