Nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards announced

THE nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards have been announced.
Nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards announced Nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards announced Nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards announced Nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards announced Nominees for the 2020 MNN Awards announced

Staff reporter

Following a month-long nomination process, the MNN editorial team faced the difficult task of combing through the submissions to finalise a shortlist.

While we had 16 finalists across four categories last year, 2020 sees us with our biggest list of contenders yet: 27 nominees across Deal and/or Merger of the Year, Explorer of the Year, CEO of the Year and New and/or Emerging Leader of the Year.

The task of narrowing down all of the year's best performers was so difficult that the Explorer of the Year category was significantly expanded to reflect recent successes (more on that here).

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate. Nominations came from the companies themselves, as well as analysts, corporate advisors, investors and the judging panel.

After much discussion and debate, the final nominees are:


Explorer of the Year

De Grey Mining for the Hemi gold discovery in WA

Alkane Resources for the Boda gold-copper discovery in NSW

Chalice Gold Mines for the Julimar nickel-copper-PGE discovery in WA

Tietto Minerals for the Abujar gold project in Cote d'Ivoire

Legend Mining for the Mawson nickel-copper discovery in WA

Greatland Gold/Newcrest Mining for the Havieron gold-copper discovery in WA

Stavely Minerals for the Thursday's Gossan discovery in Victoria

Mincor Resources for the Cassini nickel deposit in WA

Apollo Consolidated for the Lake Rebecca gold deposit in WA

Deal and/or Merger of the Year

Saracen Mineral Holdings for the acquisition of 50% of the Super Pit in WA

Northern Star Resources for the acquisition of 50% of the Super Pit in WA

Resolute Mining's takeover of Toro Gold

Auteco Minerals' farm-in over the Pickle Crow gold project in Canada

Sandfire Resources' takeover of MOD Resources

Centaurus Metals' acquisition of the Jaguar nickel project in Brazil

CEO of the Year

Richard Hyde of West African Resources

Mark Zeptner of Ramelius Resources

Jeff Quartermaine of Perseus Mining

Peter Bradford of IGO

Luke Tonkin of Silver Lake Resources

New and/or Emerging Leader of the Year

Tony Swiericzuk of Salt Lake Potash

Nic Earner of Alkane Resources

Scott Williamson of Blackstone Minerals

Alex Dorsch of Chalice Gold Mines

Robert Ryan of Bardoc Gold

Alex Passmore of Rox Resources

Dr Francis Wedin of Vulcan Energy Resources


Over the next few weeks, we will be profiling each of the nominees which will shed some light on the rationale for their inclusion as finalists.

The awards will be judged by a panel comprising MNN editor Kristie Batten, senior journalist Michael Quinn and Aspermont managing editor Richard Roberts, as well as weekly editorial contributors Allan Trench, John Sykes and Barry FitzGerald.

Rounding out the judging panel is Kalgoorlie-Boulder Mining Innovation Hub director Sabina Shugg, PCF Capital managing director Liam Twigger, CSA Global managing director Jeff Elliott, Lion Selection Group investment manager Hedley Widdup and Cube Consulting general manager Rebecca Prain.

We have a large judging panel to allow for potential conflicts. Voting will be conducted later this month with winners announced by early August.